“It Doesn’t Matter If I Win or Lose! Really?” SPECIAL GUEST AUTHOR: JUSTIN GARCIA

Ya know, in all my years of competition, whether it be wrestling, football, basketball, or yes, even Jiu Jitsu, the only thing that was always on my mind was that there was no way anyone could say I didn’t give 100%. Yeah, I know, corny as hell, but it couldn’t possibly be truer.

Maybe I was raised this way, maybe I was blessed with great mentors when it came to competition, or maybe it just made sense to me. Either way, Justin Garcia has never been accused of quitting. I’ve never even thought of giving anything but 100% because, if you think about it, the ONLY thing you can control is your effort! Now, don’t get me wrong, there were days when things just didn’t go the way it was planned. There were days when I was flat out disgusted with the way I performed, but that’s just a competitor trying to be competitive. Nothing more!

One of the things that I’ve deduced over my years of competing and coaching is that the only reason one refuses to compete is the worst three letter word in the English language: EGO. Yep. That’s it. And I absolutely believe in this 100%! See, in a world where status is where it’s at, and being the best is everybody’s dream, we sometimes lose sight of reality. There’s always going to be someone better than us. Always. But, to keep things positive, there’s always going to be something we can do to make ourselves better. Maybe it’s staying those last ten minutes to get a round or two more of rolling. Maybe it’s getting your butt off the couch and forcing yourself to class. Maybe it’s putting the cake down! (I’m guilty myself!) But the point is, there is only so much we can control, and so many times in competition it’s the things we have NO control over that decide the outcome!

Now some would say, “So what you’re saying is that we can’t control who wins and loses?” Absolutely not! What I’m trying to convey is that the beauty of competition is its ability to test you against yourself! “How hard did I try? How much effort did I give?” Those are the things that should decide victory and failure.

One of my favorite things in my dealings with the kids is advising them what to do in the case of “Bullying”. I’m sure we’ve always heard, maybe even said, that the best way to deal with a bully is to stand up to him, win or lose. Either way, we say, the bully will know he can’t pick on you without being stood up to. Well, my friends, you are the kid, and EGO is bullying the hell out of you!

 

Justin Garcia (AKA Master Chim)

Owner/Head Instructor of the Jungle Gym

 http://junglegymbronx.com/

www.masterchim.com

 

NOTE: Special thanks to Mr Justin Garcia for allowing me to reproduce this article of his. Master Chim is a great Jiu Jitsu coach, competitor and mentor! Please be sure to check out his pages, I can’t recommend him highly enough!

Felipe Grez

Jiu Jitsu Kingdom

www.jiujitsukingdom.com

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

