“Getting better at Jiu Jitsu”

Today was a fantastic day at the office! Such a great day of teaching and training, I am truly living the dream! Teaching and training Jiu Jitsu is more than just a job or hobby for me, it is my life! And what a great life I lead… I was fortunate to teach a Jiu Jitsu class this morning followed by a No Gi Jiu Jitsu class and then do some private training with a training partner/coach and get my butt kicked! 🙂  But hey, I learnt heaps and my game improved and I’ll be better tomorrow for having trained today. And that is the most important thing, living, learning and always seeking to improve!

At the end of the day, the way to get better is to show up to training with a good attitude, train smart, learn, experiment and try to execute your techniques using the minimum amount of effort. Seek the best coaches and instruction you could find, keep an open mind, watch and study the best Jiu Jitsu athletes in competition. Train with the best people you can, again keep an open mind and most importantly wrestle/roll  “to learn”.  Fighting every match in the gym like it is the finals of the Mundials is not conducive to learning quickly and reaching your potential!

I guess I would be remiss if I didn’t say that competing will also help you improve faster as long as you compete to learn. Put yourself and your game under pressure, learn from your mistakes, learn to dictate the pace of the match and control your emotions and mind under duress. And yes I know competing isn’t for everyone but it can help you learn, develop your game and expand your comfort zone! As a matter of fact, I have recently decided to start competing again this year to put myself to the test!

Good Luck With Your Training and Happy Rolling!

Felipe Grez

Jiu Jitsu Kingdom

www.jiujitsukingdom.com

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to ““Getting better at Jiu Jitsu””

  1. Rollo Says:

    Wow, great advice!! I really enjoyed this post, everything in it is so true. I’m going to put a link to it from my site! Great job.

  2. Tracey Coric Says:

    Interesting info as per usual, much appreciated. I do hope this kind of thing gets more attention.

Leave a Reply

