“How have you chosen to start 2010?”

Welcome to the New Year! I wish you great health, wealth, happiness and success for 2010 but most importantly I hope all YOUR dreams come true! You probably spent some time thinking about your New Year’s resolutions and how this year would be different…. Well how has 2010 started for you? If it hasn’t yet started the way you would like, well there’s no time like the present to turn that around and get cracking!!!

“My New Year” started on Monday the 4th January. I taught a productive private class to Marcus (student) before heading off to another student Richard’s place for a “Vision Day”. I’m sure you probably aren’t familiar with a “Vision Day” and neither was I prior to this, but it was such a great idea that I had to write about it! The purpose of the “Vision Day” was to create a visual representation of the goals that you would like to achieve for the year. How we did this was cut up a bunch of magazines looking for words and pictures of significant meaning to us and stuck those to large pieces of cardboard which we later framed! The result was a “Vision Board”! The idea is to look at it  for a few minutes each morning and a few minutes each night before going to bed and become inspired  and motivated to achieve your goals/dreams for 2010! It sure was an inspiring and fun day, I suggest you try it! In total there were five of us from the gym who took part as well as others and all the Vision Boards looked fantastic!

Vision Day 4th January 2010

 

Tuesday also started great with me teaching another really productive private class followed by my regular class with five brand new students on the mat! Talk about starting the year with a bang!!! But then again, building my school is one of my primary goals for the year and it seems that I’m just attracting good energy to me! After class I had a couple of good friends and training partners Luke Picklum and Alex Chew come down to the gym for some hard training! And boy was it hard! It reminded me of a quote I’ve heard Renzo Gracie say, “Sometimes you’re the hammer, sometimes you’re the nail” and on Tuesday I sure felt like the nail!

Wednesday started well too, after another solid private class, one of the newbies came back for more and everyone trained really well! I’m lucky to coach such a great group of talented people! More hard training followed with Luke again although my body ached I walked off the mat feeling great and like my base had improved significantly overnight! What can I say, you learn something new every day!

Well that’s enough from me for now, I need to go do some kettlebell training and plan my schedule for tomorrow! I hope you 2010 has started with a bang for you and if not well I hope this inspires you to START your year now the way you want it to go! I’ll leave you with a motivational clip I saw on the Cage Warriors BJJ forum, enjoy!

Good luck with your training and Happy rolling!

Felipe

Jiu jitsu Kingdom

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to ““How have you chosen to start 2010?””

  1. Greg Says:

    Great article Felipe! Love the blog. Do you have an email address I can contact you on about training?

    Cheers

    GJ

Leave a Reply

