What are your BJJ plans/goals for 2010?

As we approach the end of 2009, I can help but think just how fast the year has gone! It also makes you sit up and take notice…    

What have I achieved this year? Well starting my own Jiu jitsu gym has been a big achievement, source of joy/fun/pride for me as well as a life long dream! I am living the good life and doing what I love! No more long hours (60+) working in the security industry dealing with people who just don’t see eye to eye (to put it mildly). I have a great group of students who are passionate about the art and are really starting to show some promising skills! 

How much have I improved? Well honestly, although it’s a subjective statement I feel that I am at least 50% better than I was when I started the year! I guess that’s what happens when you double/triple your training/teaching load! I feel extremely confident with my guillotine as it is something that I have been working on since September 2008! My ability to see and use angles in training has taken me to a whole other level and I feel that this is just the tip of the iceberg!!! My pummeling/clinch is tighter than ever but still has a long way to go!

What am I proud of? I am proud of my Gym, Jiu jitsu Kingdom. It’s a small gym with a solid core of students who I believe will go along way in the art! It may not be Extreme Couture or Brazilian Top Team but its a start and I expect big things from the guys over the coming year!

What could I have done better? (MOST IMPORTANTLY) Its been great starting my gym, but I could definitely take lessons in business. 2010 is going to be a great year and I plan on growing the gym and building a better business. I would like to add a women’s self-defense class because I feel that it is vital for women to have at least a basic knowledge and awareness of self-protection and preservation! I would like to add value, offer more classes to my students and bring in guest instructors to share their knowledge! Personally I would like to focus more on developing a complete game when training by fixing a few weaknesses, improving a few key techniques and integrating it all into my game rather than just work on one position and one concept as I have this year (I don’t regret it one bit, I just feel I could do better)!!!

Ryan Daniel, Royler Gracie and me after Ryan's first BJJ competition in the "1st GSA Royler Gracie Cup".

 

Please realise I don’t write this to brag but rather to encourage you to think about what you would like to achieve in 2010? It is designed to get your creative juices flowing and think, what do I really want to achieve in 2010? What steps can I take to get me started in the right direction? Who can I seek for guidance? For example if you feel that your half guard is weak and needs a little work you may set a goal of drilling two or three key sweeps from this position for at least 1 hour a week in addition to your regular training. You may also aim to take one private class a month with your coach and ask him to help you improve this position! Imagine how much better you would be 12 months from now in that position!!! Perhaps you need to choose a takedown to drill and master and set a goal of “x” number of reps for the year (please be realistic)! Maybe it is just to compete and win a particular competition, if so what does this take? What sort of technical training, strength and conditioning training, competitive experience is necessary etc? Your goals are “your” goals, just be realistic and above all set goals that inspire you to work hard and achieve!!!

Here is just a sample of some of mine:

1. To grow the gym to 50+ active members and a bigger, better training facility!

2. Earn BJJ black belt (I’m brown at present)

3. Train Judo at least twice a week (Sadly I only train judo occasionally)

4. 10 000 reps of double leg to each side

5. 10 000 reps of pendulum/flower sweep to each side

I hope you take the next week and a half to think about what inspires you and where you would like to see yourself this time in 2010! I wish you a Merry Christmas and a safe and happy holiday season!

Good luck with your training and Happy rolling!

Felipe

Jiu jitsu Kingdom

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “What are your BJJ plans/goals for 2010?”

  1. Clive Says:

    Bragging? No way, just an honest personal appraisal, thanks for sharing and best of luck with your goals for 2010
    Clive

    • jiujitsukingdom Says:

      Thanks Clive, I always appreciate the feedback! I bet you have already been thinking about what you want to achieve in the new year! Good luck with your BJJ training, it sure is addictive 🙂 and Merry Christmas!
      Kind Regards
      Felipe

  2. Jim Beacon Says:

    Thank You for this post. I was wondering if its ok for me to print this and post it in our newspaper.

    • jiujitsukingdom Says:

      Hey Jim, no problem mate as long as you credit the blog! I cant wait to share so many more exciting posts, interviews, techniques etc in 2010! Hope you enjoy them.
      Kind Regards
      Felipe

  3. SHOE INSOLES Says:

    Hi there people, every human situations have their inconveniences. We feel those of the here and now but neither see nor feel those of the future; and so we often make troublesome changes without amendment, and frequently for the worst. HAPPY NEW YEAR

    • jiujitsukingdom Says:

      So true! Thanks for checking out my blog and I hope you achieve yours goals in 2010!
      Kind Regards
      Felipe

Leave a Reply

