ADCC 2009

Well ADCC is well and truly underway again this year! I love watching ADCC!!! 🙂 I thought I’d have a little fun and take a shot at picking the winners for each division of ADCC this year! For anyone who doesn’t know what ADCC is, its the World Submission Wrestling (No Gi) Championship and it rolls around every two years. And generally speaking each time ADCC rolls around the world is introduced to another rising BJJ no gi superstar! I wonder who will it be this year…

Could it be Rubens “Cobrinha” Charles, the four time world Jiu jitsu champion who is making his first appearance in ADCC, or the highly talented and contraversial 50/50 guard player Rafael Mendes also making his first ADCC debut? Can either of these two Jiu jitsu wizzards weave their magic in the fast paced no gi competition know as ADCC or will one of the former champions like Leo Viera or Rani Yahya reclaim glory? Even though I am a bigger guy, the lightweight (Under 66kg) division is always one of my favourite to watch and this year I believe its the hardest one to predict a winner. I’m going with crafty veteran and former champion Leo Viera for the win.

In the middleweight (Under 77kg) division, we have defending champion and three time ADCC champion Marcelo Garcia leading the charge as the hotly contested favourite! So far he has submitted my friend Rodney Ellis in the first round and Kron Gracie (the legendary Rickson Gracie’s son) by guillotine from mount in the second round. And although there is a lot of talent in the division, I think Marcelo will just be too much for everyone again. I think he is destined to become the first and only four time ADCC champion… And hopefully absolute champion as well! Vai Marcelinho!!!

The light heavyweight (Under 88kg) division is another hotly contested division! Tough one to call… A lot of people are probably thinking that Andre Galvao is the favourite and with good reason as he’s an extremely talented Jiu jitsu fighter but he is fighting in a heavier weight class than he’s used to. Braulio Estima would definately have to be another hot pick to win the division with his super slick Jiu jitsu and crazy good aggressive guard! So far David Avellan has turned a few heads with two submission wins including an upset Rear Naked Choke over the highly talented Tarsis Humphreys… Could he be the dark horse of the division? And you can never count out American jiu jitsu phenom Rafael Lovato Jr. I think I’m leaning towards Braulio to take the title.

I think the heavyweight (Under 99kg) division will be taken by Xande Ribeiro. Xande is the returning ADCC champion and a former multiple time world and absolute Jiu jitsu champion. He is always dangerous, a brilliant technician and a master strategist, Xande will be tough to beat. Although I am sure Vinicius “Pezao” Magalhaes has other thoughts and has started extremely strong with two submission wins including a crazy flying armbar victory over former ADCC champion Marcio “Pe e Pano” Cruz. I still think Xande will take it!

And finally in the suprheavyweight (Over 99kg) division, Jiu jitsu legend Saulo Ribeiro will have his work cut out for him as he takes a shot at the big boys. He has a tough run ahead of him having to take on the likes of former ADCC champion and multiple time runner up, Jeff Monson. Jeff is one of the most accomplished grapplers in the division! Fabricio Werdum is another former ADCC champion and multiple time medalist who’s always a force to be reckoned with. I’m going with Saulo because I am biased and I’m a huge fan of the master! 🙂

The superfight between Robert Drysdale and late replacement Ronaldo “Jacare” Souza is really tough to pick but I have to go with Jacare. He always looks a step ahead of his opponents and has so many dangerous submissions and positions that its just hard to bet against him! And now I admit my ignorance. Unfortunately I am in no place to make any calls about the female divisions because to be honest I haven’t followed them in the past so I am unfamiliar with who’s who of the division. All I know is that Kyra Gracie is out so I cant bet on her! Until next time, have a great day!

Good luck with your training and Happy rolling!

Felipe

jiu jitsu Kingdom

2 Responses to “ADCC 2009”

  1. Derek Says:

    Braulio Estima!

    U picked it.

    • jiujitsukingdom Says:

      🙂 I guess 3 out of 6 is not too bad although I am still in shock that Marcelo got beat by Pablo!!! Also I was blown away by newcomer Rafael Mendes, he displayed some beautiful jiu jitsu!

Leave a Reply

